Robert Sangster Stakes Winners

Inaugurated in 1983, the Robert Sangster Stakes was originally known as the Swettenham Stud Stakes. In 2004 the death of one of Australian racing’s most prolific owner and breeders, Robert Sangster, prompted the renaming of the event the following year, and from 2005 in honour of the principal of Swettenham Stud, the race has been called the Robert Sangster Stakes. It began as a special race, and became a listed event in 1934. One year later the race reached Group 3 status until 2004 when it was elevated to Group 2 level. The very next year the importance and quality of the Robert Sangster Stakes was formally recognised and it reached Group 1 status.

Here is a list of all the Robert Sangster Stakes winners.

William Hill Classic Winners

Year Winner
2017 Secret Agenda
2016 Precious Gem
2015 Miracles Of Life
2014 Driefontein
2013 Platelet
2012 Black Caviar
2011 Response
2010 Rostova
2009 Bel Mer
2008 Juste Momente
2007 Universal Queen
2006 Ellicorsam
2005 Alinghi
2004 French Bid
2003 Our Egyptian Raine
2002 Suzy Grey
2001 Umaline
2000 Rain Dance Lady
1999 Dantelah
1998 Spirit Of Love
1997 Apple Danish
1996 Mad Shavirl
1995 Viminaria
1994 Tarare
1993 True Spirit
1992 Western Chorus
1991 With Me
1990 Leica Western
1989 Tree Of Renown
1988 Even True
1987 Wicked Smile
1986 Lost Art
1985 Showport
1984 Vatican Lass